Mediation verse of the week and reflections

I have been challenged to begin memorizing scripture again. In the church bulletin there is a weekly verse to memorize, which spurned me into meditative action. The only difference is that I am going to make the attempt to begin memorizing passages from the Greek (UBS 4th Revised ed.) This weeks verses are from Mark 1.17-18: καὶ εἶπεν αὐτοῖς ὁ Ἰησοῦς· δεῦτε ὀπίσω μου, καὶ ποιήσω ὑμᾶς γενέσθαι ἁλιεῖς ἀνθρώπων. 18 καὶ εὐθὺς ἀφέντες τὰ δίκτυα ἠκολούθησαν αὐτῷ.
Today’s thought as I reflected (a nicer evangelical term instead of meditation? :)) on this passage was the phrase “ἀφέντες τὰ δίκτυα” and I thought ‘what net, or thing, or idea, etc., am I holding on to? What do I need to immediately drop and follow Jesus in my life? This phrase is interesting when contrasted with the response of the disciple in Mt 8:21 who hesitates before following Jesus and wants first to bury his father (κύριε, ἐπίτρεψόν μοι πρῶτον ἀπελθεῖν καὶ θάψαι τὸν πατέρα μου). Then Jesus leaves the crowds with his disciples and gets into a boat. Am I like the sons of Zebedee who drop their nets and immediately follow Jesus, or am I like the disciple who has other things to do before he follows Jesus?

Leave a Reply

